ABBA : Abba - The Album

ABBA : Abba - The Album

  • $11.98

24-bit digital remaster with new liner notes, complete lyrics and a bonus track: 'Thank You for the Music' (Doris Day Mix).
The Album's closing trilogy, "The Girl with the Golden Hair: 3 Scenes from a Mini Musical," was Benny Andersson and Bjorn Ulvaeus's most ambitious work yet. But despite "Thank You for the Music," a more humble "I Write the Songs," and the barely veiled complaint "I'm a Marionette," it wasn't the 1977 LP's best stuff. That came in two great singles: "Take a Chance on Me" and "The Name of the Game," which continued the two Abba couples' string of growing-up-in-public heartache songs. ("Knowing Me, Knowing You," from the previous Arrival, inaugurated the tradition.) "The Girl," though, hinted that the Bjorn-and-Benny writing team was bent on storming the musical stage, as it did by the mid-'80s with Chess. --Rickey Wright

1. [5:53] Eagle
2. [4:04] Take A Chance On Me
3. [4:37] One Man, One Woman
4. [4:54] The Name Of The Game
5. [4:45] Move On
6. [3:43] Hole In Your Soul
7. [3:52] Thank You For The Music
8. [4:35] I Wonder (Departure)
9. [4:06] I'm A Marionette
10. [4:03] Thank You For The Music (Doris Day Mix)

Product UPC: 731454996228

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question