Buckwheat Zydeco : Ultimate Collection

Buckwheat Zydeco : Ultimate Collection CD

  • $15.98

The spiciest zydeco tracks from Buckwheat's Island, Rounder, Paula and Black Top albums! Includes I Bought a Raccoon; Bim Bam Thank You Mam; Buck's Hot Rod; Zydeco Boogaloo; Ya Ya; Hot Tamale Baby; Why Does Love Gotta Be So Sad (Eric Clapton on guitar); Hey Good Lookin' (with Dwight Yoakam), and more.
Thank Stanley "Buckwheat" Dural and his group Buckwheat Zydeco for the many contemporary zydeco releases now available. It was Buckwheat's major-label breakthrough record, On a Night Like This, that brought this rural Louisiana dance music into the mainstream, at least for a time, and his zesty repertoire that won new legions of fans. His accordion prowess also liberated the instrument from its polka-band image. This excellent collection traces Buckwheat's trajectory from 1979 to 1988, peaking with his rollicking accordion-powered party poppers "Ma 'Tit Fille" and "Zydeco Honky Tonk." His roots are covered, too, with zydeco pioneer Clifton Chenier's "Hot Tamale Baby" and rural-themed numbers like "I Bought a New Raccoon." There's also his collaboration with Eric Clapton--E.C. reprising the ripping solo of his "Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad." But with Buckwheat, love's rarely sad. His deliciously uptempo, two-stepping blend of swamp-funk, rock, and R&B is a tonic for misery of any kind. --Ted Drozdowski

1. Turning Point
2. Zydeco Boogaloo
3. Ya Ya
4. Buck's New Jole Blon
5. Take Me To The Mountain Top
6. On A Night Like This
7. Hot Tamale Baby
8. Ma 'Tit Fille
9. Hey Good Lookin'
10. Buck's Hot Rod
11. Pour Tout Quelque'un
12. Where There's Smoke There's Fire
13. Maybe I Will
14. Why Does Love Gotta Be So Sad
15. Make A Change
16. Drivin' Old Grey
17. Five Card Stud
18. Secret Of Love
19. Bayou Girl
20. People's Choice
21. Zydeco Honky Tonk

Product UPC: 731454234627

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question