Carpenters : Love Songs CD

Carpenters : Love Songs CD

  • $11.98

No one in '70s pop made more achingly beautiful love songs than the Carpenters. And this new collection includes 20 of their best: (They Long to Be) Close to You; Top of the World; Rainy Days and Mondays; We've Only Just Begun; Superstar; Hurting Each Other; For All We Know; Only Yesterday; Goodbye to Love; I Won't Last a Day Without You; All You Get from Love Is a Love Song; I Need to Be in Love , and more.
There was a time, before Karen Carpenter was born, when most American female popular singers, even the black ones, sounded a lot like the way she would one day sound. The music of singer-drummer Carpenter and her piano-playing brother Richard came to be called soft rock, but it's really just good, straight American pop. This CD, released in March 1998, is a collection of greatest hits, with a special emphasis on romance. Paul Williams, Burt Bacharach, Sam Lewis, and Victor Young provide lovely melodies, and Carpenter's expressive voice makes each song genuinely affecting. --Stanley Booth

1. [3:49] I Need To Be In Love (1990 Remix)
2. [4:41] Solitaire
3. [3:05] We've Only Just Begun (1991 Remix)
4. [4:52] This Masquerade (1990 Remix)
5. [4:14] You're The One (Album Version)
6. [3:49] Superstar (1991 Remix)
7. [3:36] Rainy Days And Mondays (1991 Remix)
8. [3:00] Top Of The World (1973 Remix)
9. [4:08] Make Believe It's Your First Time
10. [4:02] I Just Fall In Love Again
11. [3:42] (They Long To Be) Close To You (1991 Remix)
12. [2:32] For All We Know (1990 Remix)
13. [4:25] Where Do I Go From Here (Album Version)
14. [3:58] Only Yesterday (1991 Remix)
15. [3:46] All You Get From Love Is A Love Song
16. [3:08] When I Fall In Love (Album Version)
17. [2:46] Hurting Each Other
18. [3:54] I Won't Last A Day Without You (1991 Remix)
19. [4:38] A Song For You (1987 Remix)
20. [3:57] Goodbye To Love (1991 Remix)

Product UPC: 731454083829

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question