Carrie Underwood : Some Hearts

Carrie Underwood : Some Hearts

  • $8.98

This is the debut album from American Idol winner Carrie Underwood. Includes the #1 smash hit 'Inside Your Heaven' and the soon to be hit 'Jesus Take The Wheel' and much more. Arista. 2005.
Would American Idol winner Carrie Underwood have landed a major-label recording contract without winning the hugely popular television contest? Probably. The big-voiced Oklahoman has the pipes, the look, the pedigree, and, most important, the emotional resonance to sustain a professional career. As an investment in her future, her label eschewed the easy path in putting out an album to take advantage of her publicity, going for a name producer, Dann Huff (Keith Urban, Faith Hill, Lonestar), to handle half the tracks. It also solicited material from the same top songwriters (Diane Warren, Brett James, Troy Verges, Rivers Rutherford) who stock albums by Hill, Martina McBride, Trisha Yearwood, and Wynonna. "Jesus, Take the Wheel," the hit first single, shows off the best of Underwood's power vocals, while the sexy rocker "We're Young and Beautiful" pulls her out of her ballad-heavy comfort zone, and her autobiographical "I Ain't in Checotah Anymore" bolsters her authenticity. If the young performer oversings on occasion (the overwrought bonus track, "Inside Your Heaven"), and settles for too many generic themes, she still surprises in her ability to go head-to-head with country’s reigning females. Will Underwood really survive to be a contender for the Martina throne? Let's just say that American Idol judges and voters picked the right contestant. If the posturing Bo Bice had won, rock stars would hardly be quaking in their boots. --Alanna Nash

1. [4:34] Wasted
2. [4:00] Don't Forget to Remember Me
3. [3:48] Some Hearts
4. [3:46] Jesus, Take the Wheel
5. [3:54] The Night Before (Life Goes On)
6. [4:09] Lessons Learned
7. [3:19] Before He Cheats
8. [4:06] Starts with Goodbye
9. [3:58] I Just Can't Live a Lie
10. [3:53] We're Young and Beautiful
11. [3:34] That's Where It Is
12. [3:47] Whenever You Remember
13. [3:19] I Ain't In Checotah Anymore
14. [3:45] Inside Your Heaven

Product UPC: 828767119724

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question