Dave Hollister : Chicago '85 The Movie

Dave Hollister : Chicago '85 The Movie

  • $5.98

No description available.Genre: Soul/R&BRating: Release Date: 0000-00-00Media Type: Compact Disk
Dave Hollister is back. And he's still keeping it ghetto, even after his somewhat disappointing debut, Ghetto Hymns. On this 14-track effort he easily eludes the sophomore jinx, fulfilling more of his potential than he did on his first album. He enlisted the help of everyone from Puffy hitman Chucky Thompson to Tim, Bob, and Vidal Davis, so this record is smooth midtempo R&B that walks the line between R. Kelly and Gerald Levert. The bass- and snare-heavy "You Can't Say" and the warm ballad "We've Come Too Far" capture the soul of classic R&B, but enrich it with the razor-sharp edge of hip-hop. You could say it's neo-soul for radio worshipers. But Hollister isn't just going for the status quo: he keeps it gangster on the piano- and synth-heavy "Don't Take My Girl Away," another of his many odes to Baby Mama Drama. He also goes for that Luther Vandross-feel on the piano- and bell-embellished "Destiny." This is a movie you shouldn't miss. --Kenji Jasper

1. [0:47] I'm Not Complete Interlude (Album Version)
2. [4:35] Keep On Lovin' (Album Version)
3. [4:16] Take Care Of Home (Album Version)
4. [4:31] One Woman Man (Album Version) [Clean]
5. [4:46] We've Come Too Far (Album Version)
6. [4:10] You Can't Say (Album Version)
7. [3:28] Yo Baby's Daddy (Album Version)
8. [4:32] Don't Take My Girl Away (Album Version)
9. [4:53] Destiny (Album Version)
10. [4:11] Doin' Wrong (Album Version)
11. [3:38] On The Side (Album Version)
12. [4:09] A Woman Will (Album Version)
13. [4:32] I Don't Want To Be A Hustler (Album Version)
14. [4:59] I'm Not Complete (Album Version)

Product UPC: 600445027824

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question