Bill Evans - Dig It! + 2 Bonus Tracks

Bill Evans - Dig It! + 2 Bonus Tracks

  • $24.99

This LP comprises highlights from Bill Evans' earliest studio recording sessions. By September 1956, at nearly 27-years old, Evans already had many studio recordings under his belt, and a lot of playing experience. However, that month marked the making of his first recordings to be issued under his own name, New Jazz Conception, a combination of trio and solo pieces. During a 1972 interview with Joe Vandyl, Evans expressed his opinion about those sessions: I still think that it was a good record at the time, as good as I could do and I still will listen to it without any misgivings; as you say, the influences were perhaps more marked. There were a lot of influences; some of the major ones might have been George Shearing, Bud Powell, of course, Nat Cole, Earl Hines and many players you never hear of. I think some of the main influences were the obvious people like Dizzy Gillespie, Miles, Stan Getz and Bird. It's like building an idiomatic language and a musical language, and you kind of take abstract principles, melodic, harmonic and rhythmic influences, and you put them together.

1. I Love You 3:55
2. Easy Living 3:53
3. Displacement 2:35
4. Waltz for Debby 1:19
5. Autumn Leaves 5:59
6. Spring Is Here 5:07*
1. Someday My Prince Will Come 4:55
2. Tenderly 3:33
3. What Is There to Say? 4:54
4. Oleo 4:06
5. Witchcraft 4:35*

Product UPC: 8436542018432

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question