Django Reinhardt : The Best of Django Reinhardt

Django Reinhardt : The Best of Django Reinhardt CD

  • $13.98

This new compilation from Blue Note culls 18 classic tracks from the gypsy jazz guitarist's seminal 1936-1948 period! Includes Nuages; Montmartre; St. Louis Blues; Limehouse Blues; Django's Tiger; Lady Be Good , and more.
Django Reinhardt was both the first great jazz-guitar soloist and the first European jazz musician to have a significant influence on American musicians. Just as Earl Hines had found a way to transfer Louis Armstrong's assertive solo style to the piano, Reinhardt did it with the acoustic guitar, mixing inventive melodic improvisation with a decorative gypsy-guitar idiom and vigorous rhythm. He did it most often with the Hot Club of France, a quintet including violinist Stephane Grappelli, two rhythm guitarists, and a bassist that created its own distinctive style, a lightly propulsive mix that was an ideal setting for Django's mix of drive, invention, and charm. The recordings here range from 1936 to 1948 and showcase Reinhardt with the Hot Club, clarinetist Hubert Rostaing, and trumpeter Rex Stewart. Included is a brilliant solo performance of his "Naguine." It's an excellent introduction to one of the most original voices in jazz of the period, to a fine composer as well as a unique guitarist. --Stuart Broomer

1. [2:46] Limehouse Blues
2. [3:12] When Day Is Done
3. [2:42] St Louis Blues
4. [3:16] Minor Swing
5. [3:02] My Serenade (.)
6. [3:08] You Rascal You
7. [2:24] Montmartre
8. [2:33] I'll See You In My Dreams (.)
9. [2:30] Naguine (.)
10. [3:19] Nuages
11. [3:05] Blues clair
12. [2:56] Place de Brouckere
13. [3:17] Manoir de mes rêves
14. [2:39] Django's Tiger (.)
15. [2:41] Ol' Man River
16. [3:17] Diminushing
17. [3:00] Lady Be Good
18. [3:03] To Each His Own (Symphonie)

Product UPC: 724383713820

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question