Ella Fitzgerald : Oh, Lady, Be Good! - Best Of The Gershwin Songbook

Ella Fitzgerald : Oh, Lady, Be Good! - Best Of The Gershwin Songbook

  • $19.98

Ira Gershwin was at these storied 1959 sessions! Here are 17 of the best from the five original LPs: Oh, Lady, Be Good!; But Not for Me; 'S Wonderful; I Got Rhythm , and more!
Ella recorded five LPs' worth of Gershwin tunes for her songbook series, which was frankly a little much, so this single disc skims the cream. These songs are the ur-texts of American pre-war pop, straightforward love songs made to flow off a singer's tongue, and here they're in the hands of a master. Nelson Riddle's arrangements tend toward the soupy side--the bombastic string sections are distinctly nonjazz--but Ella, as always, sings with absolute taste and authority. She doesn't seem to be living inside the lyrics the way she does with, say, the Cole Porter songbook, but the simplicity of the Gershwins' melodies and sentiments let her get across some gently nuanced, technically exquisite singing. --Douglas Wolk

1. Fascinating Rhythm
2. 'S Wonderful
3. Someone to Watch over Me
4. He Loves and She Loves
5. Oh, Lady, Be Good!
6. A Foggy Day
7. How Long Has This Been Going On?
8. Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
9. But for Me
10. My One & Only
11. I've Got a Crush on You
12. Nice Work if You Can Get It
13. The Man I Love
14. Funny Face
15. Embraceable You
16. They Can't Take That Away From Me
17. I Got Rhythm

Product UPC: 731452958129

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question