Elton John : Elton John: Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy

Elton John : Elton John: Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy

  • $11.98

Another ambitious concept LP, another John/Taupin masterpiece, another #1. Along with the smash Someone Saved My Life Tonight and the rest of the 1975 LP, this CD adds three bonus cuts including the #1s Philadelphia Freedom and Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds !
Elton John has always liked having it both ways. He's flamboyant and vain, yet empathetic and sincere. He sits at his piano playing sentimental melodies, but the words come not from inside his soul but from friend Bernie Taupin. For Captain Fantastic, he and Taupin wrote a concept album which sketches their career together. "Someone Saved My Life Tonight" is easily the strongest song outside of the concept. The addition of several songs "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds" featuring John Lennon, "Philadelphia Freedom," and "One Day at a Time" blow the concept but up the entertainment value considerably. --Rob O'Connor

1. [5:46] Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy
2. [4:28] Tower Of Babel
3. [4:33] Bitter Fingers
4. [4:20] Tell Me When The Whistle Blows
5. [6:44] Someone Saved My Life Tonight
6. [4:01] (Gotta Get A) Meal Ticket
7. [2:37] Better Off Dead
8. [3:40] Writing
9. [4:12] We All Fall In Love Sometimes
10. [6:34] Curtains
11. [6:17] Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
12. [3:49] One Day At A Time
13. [5:24] Philadelphia Freedom

Product UPC: 731452816023

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question