Elton John : Elton John ‎– Honky Château

Elton John : Elton John Honky Château CD

  • $11.98

An early-'70s singer-songwriter classic and Elton's first #1! The John/Taupin mojo was workin' on this 1972 smash, producing the Top 10s Rocket Man and Honky Cat plus tender tunes like Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters .
By 1972, Elton John was already a rising star in America, although most casual listeners still identified him as part of the singer/songwriter explosion, thanks to the success of "Your Song" and "Levon." Honky Château changed all that, beginning with the success of "Honky Cat," a rousing New Orleans-ish R&B powerhouse that kicks off this terrific collection of songs. This was the album that first revealed John as a pure-pop craftsman, and he's all over the musical map on this set, moving from country-ish rock to blues-based rockers. But the best things here still might be two gorgeous ballads: "Mona Lisas & Mad Hatters" (displaying the young vocalist at his best) and the hit single "Rocket Man" (which had many rock fans debating which was the better space odyssey of the day--this or Bowie's). And lyricist Bernie Taupin was revealing a new, slightly darker side here via tunes like "I Think I'm Gonna Kill Myself." --Bill Holdship

1. [5:13] Honky Cat
2. [5:32] Mellow
3. [3:35] I Think I'm Going To Kill Myself
4. [3:25] Susie (Dramas)
5. [4:41] Rocket Man (I Think It's Going To Be A Long Long Time)
6. [3:58] Salvation
7. [4:22] Slave
8. [4:03] Amy
9. [5:00] Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters
10. [5:35] Hercules
11. [2:53] Slave (Alternate "Fast" Version)

Product UPC: 731452816221

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question