Eric Clapton : Blues

Eric Clapton : Blues 2xCD

  • $19.98

Prior to Eric Clapton's pop- and MTV-driven mid-'80s work, he spent the '70s and early '80s playing languid, singer-songwriter soft rock evocative of J.J. Cale and Don Edwards. But Clapton always kept one foot in the blues of his youth. BLUES brings this material together in one place and throughout, Slowhand taps into an inner spirituality that does these blues standards well.
The first disc contains studio recordings that include tributes to many influences including Elmore James ("The Sky Is Crying") and Willie Dixon ("Meet Me [Down At the Bottom]"). Most impressive is a stripped-down version of Little Walter's "Mean Old World," in which Clapton and Duane Allman duet using National steel and slide guitars. The tempo picks up during an alternate version of Bo Diddley's "Before You Accuse Me" that becomes a rollicking shuffle and a cover of Muddy Water's "Blow Wind Blow" in which Clapton's guitar parries with Gary Brooker's piano. On disc two, "Live Blues," Slowhand's playing deliciously simmers on material by Robert Johnson and Otis Rush. He eventually cuts loose as he trades licks with his hero Freddie King on a joyous cover of Bobby "Blue" Bland's "Further on Up the Road."

1. [4:41] Before You Accuse Me (Take A Look At Yourself) (Version 1)
2. [3:53] Mean Old World (Duet Version, Master Take)
3. [5:30] Ain't That Lovin You
4. [4:01] The Sky Is Crying
5. [2:55] Cryin' (Crossroad 2 Box/Set Version)
6. [6:54] Have You Ever Loved A Woman
7. [2:50] Alberta
8. [7:58] Early In The Morning
9. [2:54] Give Me Strength
10. [6:59] Meet Me (Down At The Bottom)
11. [3:59] County Jail Blues
12. [6:36] Floating Bridge
13. [3:01] Blow Wind Blow
14. [5:14] To Make Somebody Happy (Crossroad 2 Box/Set Version)
15. [4:40] Before You Accuse Me (Take A Look At Yourself) (Version 2)
16. [12:50] Stormy Monday (Live 1977 Hammersmith Odeon)
17. [5:57] Worried Life Blues (Crossroad 2 Box/Set Version)
18. [7:11] Early In The Morning (Live)
19. [7:47] Have You Ever Loved A Woman (Live At Long Beach Arena, California / 1974)
20. [6:23] Wonderful Tonight (Live 1978 Apollo Glasgow)
21. [5:11] Kind Hearted Woman (Live 1978 Apollo Glasgow)
22. [8:03] Double Trouble (Live)
23. [6:58] Driftin' Blues (Crossroad 2 Box/Set Version)
24. [5:49] Crossroads (Crossroad 2 Box/Set Version/Live Version)
25. [8:32] Further On Up The Road (Live Version)

Product UPC: 731454717823

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question