George Thorogood And The Delaware Destroyers : George Thorogood And The Delaware Destroyers

George Thorogood And The Delaware Destroyers : George Thorogood And The Delaware Destroyers

  • $15.98

The debut album by George Thorogood and the Destroyers exploded onto the FM airwaves in 1977, bringing a dose of hard-driving roots reality back to rock radio; his versions of Bo Diddley's 'Who Do You Love' and John Lee Hooker's 'One Bourbon One Scotch and One Beer' resonated throughout the years. Beginning his career as a solo act, Thorogood soon added drummer Jeff Simon and guitarist Ron Smith, and it was with this ensemble that George initially cut his first record a sound that was even more raw than the final version of the album, with George's propulsive performance, backed only by Jeff's ferocious drumming and Ron's steady low-strings-on-the-guitar underpinning. Eventually, new band member Billy Blough overdubbed his bass, which gave the album the sound it needed for radio airplay, and that's the version of the record we've all heard; until now.
Now, thirty-eight years later, here is the first album by George Thorogood and the Delaware Destroyers (the 'Delaware' was later dropped), as it was initially recorded, newly mixed by legendary producer Paul Q. Kolderie (Radiohead, Pixies, Warren Zevon). In this stripped-down setting, the focus and drive of George's performance, which are what have always set him apart in the blues-rock world, are even more apparent.
As a bonus, the album includes previously unreleased track 'Goodbye Baby,' a cover of the Elmore James song.

1. [3:25] You Got To Lose
2. [4:27] Madison Blues
3. [8:29] One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer
4. [4:23] Kind Hearted Woman
5. [4:24] Ride On Josephine
6. [3:35] Can't Stop Lovin'
7. [3:16] Homesick Boy
8. [3:33] John Hardy
9. [4:09] I'll Change My Style
10. [8:05] Delaware Slide
11. [3:27] Goodbye Baby (Bonus Track)

Product UPC: 888072374379

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question