Gerald Wilson : New York, New Sound

Gerald Wilson : New York, New Sound

  • $18.98

Long associated with the Los Angeles jazz scene, Gerald Wilson traveled to New York City's Clinton Recording Studio to record "New York, New Sound," which was produced by Crusaders founder and Mack Avenue president Stix Hooper. Featured soloists in the 18-piece orchestra are some of the best jazz players that New York City has to offer, including Jon Faddis, Lewis Nash, Anthony Wilson, Kenny Barron, Jimmy Heath, Clark Terry, and Renee Rosnes, with Hooper adding his distinctive drumming to four of the CD's ten tracks. Included in the 10-song collection are Wilson's arrangements of the classic Miles Davis tune 'Milestones', Coltrane's 'Equinox' and eight Wilson-penned gems, including 'Viva Tirado', which was a Top 30 instrumental hit in 1970 recorded by the Mexican-American band, El Chicano.

1. [7:28] Milestones
2. [9:55] Blues For The Count
3. [6:42] Equinox
4. [9:14] Viva Tirado
5. [3:36] Teri
6. [8:08] Blues For Yna Yna
7. [14:51] Theme For Monterey
8. [4:53] M Capetillo
9. [5:15] Josefina
10. [6:08] Nancy Jo

Product UPC: 673203100923

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question