James Brown : 20 All Time Greatest Hits!

James Brown : 20 All Time Greatest Hits! CD

  • $10.98

A towering figure in postwar American music, for over 40 years James Brown has written, produced, and performed some of the most compelling R&B ever recorded. 20 All Time Greatest Hits! distills Startime!, itself a four-CD set that barely scratched the surface of Brown's prodigious output. As such, this collection concentrates on Brown's best-known records: "I Feel Good," "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag," and "Cold Sweat." The propulsive one- or two-chord vamps with Brown's hoarse, declamatory vocals laid the groundwork for modern funk. It's a perfect starter set for anyone unfamiliar with Brown's work. But be warned--Brown is addictive. Like peanuts and potato chips, it's impossible to stop with just one. Buy this and don't be surprised if one day you find yourself scouring used record bins for a rare copy of Grits and Cornbread. --Steven Mirkin

1. [2:46] I Got You (I Feel Good)
2. [5:15] Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine (Pt. 1 & 2)
3. [2:37] I Got The Feelin'
4. [3:16] Mother Popcorn (Single Version)
5. [3:10] Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose
6. [3:15] Make It Funky
7. [2:05] Papa's Got A Brand New Bag
8. [2:45] Think
9. [2:47] It's A Man's, Man's, Man's World
10. [2:29] Try Me
11. [3:31] Night Train (Single Version)
12. [2:51] Cold Sweat
13. [3:34] Get On The Good Foot
14. [4:23] Papa Don't Take No Mess
15. [7:38] The Payback
16. [2:46] Say It Loud - I'm Black And I'm Proud
17. [4:59] Super Bad
18. [3:07] Hot Pants (She Got To Use What She Got To Get What She Wants)
19. [4:10] Get Up Offa That Thing
20. [2:44] Please, Please, Please

Product UPC: 731451132629

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question