John Pearse : The Lost 1966 Waldeck Audition

John Pearse : The Lost 1966 Waldeck Audition

  • $28.98

To many students of folk and blues guitar, John Pearse was a hero - the man who taught, performed, and helped popularize the genre. 'He left his mark on the musical world,' says Cindy Cashdollar. 'He provided us all with the right tools to play better music,' observes Chris Hillman. The (UK) Guardian concludes that John Pearse was 'the folk guitarist who taught the protest generation how to play. '
This is high praise, and it hardly stops here. BEAR FAMILY RECORDS offers a unique glimpse of this highly esteemed musician, drawn from these informal, unguarded performances. The 18 tracks presented here - for the first time ever - showcase Pearse backstage at the Waldeck Folk Festival in 1966. Pearse appeared at this premier German festival on four consecutive years, between 1965-68. The tapes offer a rare glimpse of his casual, non-studio persona. Unless you were in the first ten rows, you wouldn't have heard him so clearly.
Pearse taught designing, building and playing of stringed instruments to countless members of a European and American audience through his BBC, ITV and PBS shows - more than he could have ever reached through the endless touring of folk venues. Pearse recorded now-collectable albums like Guitar Train (1958) and Blues, Rags & Raga (1972). He also hosted the 1980s PBS show String Along and designed strings used and endorsed by Doc Watson, King Crimson & Dixie Chicks.
Despite his untimely death in 2008, John Pearse continues to reach an appreciative audience. The unmarked reel-to-reel tapes that gave rise to this unexpected CD will delight his legion of fans and draw new listeners to him.

1. [1:40] Beacon on the Hill
2. [1:31] Billbury Town
3. [2:00] Candy Man
4. [1:13] Cattle Smack
5. [3:20] Cocaine
6. [2:09] Fair and Tender Ladies
7. [2:37] Fix Me a Pallet on Your Floor
8. [1:58] Goin' Back to Georgia
9. [2:31] (I'm) Satisfied
10. [2:11] Johnny Was a Shoemaker
11. [4:30] Lady of Carlisle
12. [2:05] Blow Away the Morning Dew
13. [1:32] Rapatatap
14. [3:06] Richland Woman Blues
15. [2:03] Seaport Town
16. [3:33] The Squire and the Chamber Maid
17. [2:21] Trouble in Mind
18. [1:13] Wilson Rag

Product UPC: 4000127171436

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question