Jonny Lang : Lie To Me

Jonny Lang : Lie To Me

  • $10.98

This just 16-year-old Minnesota-based singer/guitar player has a strong voice and is an almost-perfect guitar player. He's got taste, and the production is fine. JONNY LANG - gtr/voc, DAVID SMITH - bass, ROB STUPKA - drums. Special guests: BRUCE McCABE - kbds, RICKY PETERSON - org, PAT HAYES - hca.
Medium 1
Lie To Me
Darker Side
Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
Still Wonder
Back For A Taste Of Your Love
A Quitter Never Wins
Hit The Ground Running
Rack 'em Up
When I Come To You
There's Gotta Be A Change
Missing Your Love
Jonny Lang cut his debut album in Memphis when he was just 15, and, upon its release in 1996, the guitar prodigy from Minneapolis instantly became one of the leading lights of modern blues. He's a fast and flashy player whose approach rests equally on technical assurance and musical intelligence. Sizing up a dozen songs, he gets a pleasing, razor-sharp sound out of his ax while building excitement in his lead lines--thankfully, he steers clear of cliché and bombast. As a fledging singer, he acts out the lyrics of Ike Turner's age-old shuffle "Matchbox" and his own romantic ballad "Missing Your Love" with surprising poise and believability. Kudos to producer David Z for surrounding Lang with alert, first-rate sidemen and for helping select good material from Turner, Sonny Boy Williamson, Tinsley Ellis, and others. --Frank-John Hadley

1. [4:11] Lie To Me
2. [5:08] Darker Side
3. [4:14] Good Morning Little School Girl
4. [3:45] Still Wonder
5. [3:29] Matchbox
6. [3:32] Back For A Taste Of Your Love
7. [5:56] A Quitter Never Wins
8. [3:31] Hit The Ground Running
9. [4:07] Rack 'Em Up
10. [4:58] When I Come To You
11. [4:11] There's Gotta Be A Change
12. [3:53] Missing Your Love

Product UPC: 731454064026

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question