Long Beach Dub Allstars : Wonders Of The World

Long Beach Dub Allstars : Wonders Of The World CD

  • $10.98

Long Beach Dub Allstars ~ Wonders Of The World
On their follow-up to 1999's Right Back, the Long Beach Dub Allstars continue stirring their musical melting pot. Wonders of the World combines heavy dub, shimmery pop, bouncy ska, and aggro alt-rock into a disc that roller-coasters between spaced out ("Wonders Dub II" and "Grass Cloud") and punked out ("No Way"). The ex-Sublime members also pulled in some talent from the hip-hop world, getting will.i.am from Black Eyed Peas on "Sunny Hours" and Chali2na from Jurassic 5 on "Life Goes On." Even with all the special appearances and genre-crossing, though, the Allstars don't crack the surface, covering the same ground that bands like Sugar Ray and 311are already treading. While the band does flow seamlessly between rock and reggae, Wonders of the World feels coated in a tepid, radio-friendly gloss that, despite a few bright spots, dulls by the end of the disc. --Jennifer Maerz

1. [1:05] Wonders Dub I (Album Version)
2. [3:58] Sunny Hours (Album Version) [feat. will.i.am]
3. [3:19] Listen to D.J.'s (Album Version)
4. [3:14] Rolled Up (Album Version)
5. [1:47] Every Mother's Dream (Album Version)
6. [3:17] Life Goes On (Album Version)
7. [3:23] It Ain't Easy (Album Version)
8. [4:07] Luke (Album Version)
9. [4:38] Wonders Dub II (Album Version)
10. [2:27] No Way (Album Version)
11. [3:34] Lonely End (Album Version)
12. [3:15] Talkin' The Truth (Album Version)
13. [3:20] Free Love (Album Version)
14. [3:06] Lies (Album Version)
15. [4:38] Kablammin' It (Album Version)
16. [6:35] Grass Cloud (Album Version)
17. [3:30] Sunny Hours Reprise (Album Version)

Product UPC: 600445029521

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question