Louie Rankin : Complete & Unbelievable...The Otis Redding Dictionary Of Soul (2CD)(Deluxe)

The Otis Redding Dictionary Of Soul 2xCD

  • $20.98

Otis Redding helped define soul music in 1966 with Complete And Unbelievable... The Otis Redding Dictionary Of Soul. The album, which peaked at #5 on the U.S. R&B charts, was once praised by critic Jon Landau as: "The finest record ever to come out of Memphis and certainly the best example of modern soul ever recorded."
Redding recorded his fifth studio album, THE OTIS REDDING DICTIONARY OF SOUL, at Stax Studios in Memphis. Together with Booker T. & the M.G.'s, pianist Isaac Hayes and the Memphis Horns, Redding recorded 12 songs for the album, including the all-time classics, "Try A Little Tenderness" and "Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)."
To celebrate the 50th anniversary of this landmark recording, Rhino will release a two-disc edition that includes remastered mono and stereo mixes of the album, plus eight bonus tracks.  Rhino will also release THE OTIS REDDING DICTIONARY OF SOUL as a double-LP set featuring both mono and stereo versions of the album, the latter of which has been out-of-print for decades. Both LPs will be pressed on 180-gram vinyl for superior audio quality. The set comes with a bonus 7" reissue of the single: "Try A Little Tenderness" b/w "I'm Sick Y'all."

1. [2:45] Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song) [Mono] [Remastered]
2. [2:57] I'm Sick Y'All (Mono) [Remastered]
3. [2:56] Tennessee Waltz (Mono) [Remastered]
4. [2:29] Sweet Lorene (Mono) [Remastered]
5. [3:49] Try A Little Tenderness (Mono) [Remastered]
6. [2:34] Day Tripper (Mono) [Remastered]
7. [3:08] My Lover's Prayer (Mono) [Remastered]
8. [2:37] She Put The Hurt On Me (Mono) [Remastered]
9. [2:54] Ton Of Joy (Mono) [Remastered]
10. [3:51] You're Still My Baby (Mono) [Remastered]
11. [3:29] Hawg For You (Mono) [Remastered]
12. [2:35] Love Have Mercy (Mono) [Remastered]
13. [2:43] You Left The Water Running
14. [3:17] Trick Or Treat (Outtake)
15. [2:28] Loving By The Pound (Take 1 - Outtake)
16. [2:33] Don't Mess With Cupid (B-Side)
17. [4:00] Try A Little Tenderness (Alternate Take 1)
18. [2:42] Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song) [Remastered]
19. [2:52] I'm Sick Y'All (Remastered)
20. [2:53] Tennessee Waltz (Remastered)
21. [2:34] Sweet Lorene (Remastered)
22. [3:51] Try A Little Tenderness (Remastered)
23. [2:48] Day Tripper (Remastered)
24. [3:09] My Lover's Prayer (Remastered)
25. [2:37] She Put The Hurt On Me (Remastered)
26. [2:46] Ton Of Joy (Remastered)
27. [3:41] You're Still My Baby (Remastered)
28. [3:27] Hawg For You (Remastered)
29. [2:32] Love Have Mercy (Remastered)
30. [3:49] Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song) [Live in Europe 3/67] [Remastered]
31. [3:31] Day Tripper (Live in Europe 3/67) [Remastered]
32. [6:51] Try A Little Tenderness (Live In Europe)

Product UPC: 081227944155

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question