Nina Simone - In Concert

Nina Simone - In Concert

  • $24.98

In Concert was Simone's first album for Philips and was made up of three live recordings in Carnegie Hall, New York City in March and April 1964. This album marks the beginning of 'Nina Simone, the Civil Rights singer' in her recording career. Included on the album are politically laden songs, most notably the self-written 'Mississippi Goddam', released as a single at the time. But also 'Old Jim Crow', "Go Limp" and the haunting 'Pirate Jenny' contributed to the message in a covert or metaphorical way.

1. I Loves You Porgy
2. Plain Gold Ring
3. Pirate Jenny
4. Old Jim Crow
5. Don't Smoke in Bed
6. Go Limp
7. Mississippi Goddam

Product UPC: 600753605684

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question