PJ Harvey : Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea

PJ Harvey : Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea

  • $15.98

Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea--the sixth album from the most incendiary female British performer to emerge in the 1990s--is as powerful a record as any Polly Jean Harvey has made. Masterfully striking a balance between her blues-folk roots, avant-leanings, and soaring pop sensibility, it serves as a summary of Harvey's prior achievements. The abrasive, jagged guitars hark back to her fiery 1992 debut album, Dry, on the ballistic yet anthemic opener, "Big Exit," while the dreamy, opulent closer, "We Float," demonstrates her maturity as a songwriter. The clamor and emotional rush of a heady relationship--particularly on her duet with Thom Yorke, "This Mess We're In"--gives the album a ferocious clarity. The production skills of Mick Harvey (Nick Cave's Bad Seeds) lends depth and assurance. And, though PJ quotes from many influences--the Who, Patti Smith, Bob Dylan, and even West Side Story--her indomitable presence shines throughout. Stories from the City is the work of a singular talent at the peak of her powers. --Gavin Martin

1. [3:51] Big Exit
2. [3:20] Good Fortune
3. [3:42] A Place Called Home
4. [3:14] One Line
5. [4:00] Beautiful Feeling
6. [4:00] The Whores Hustle And The Hustlers Whore
7. [3:57] This Mess We're In
8. [3:19] You Said Something
9. [2:24] Kamikaze
10. [3:48] This Is Love
11. [5:37] Horses In My Dreams
12. [6:09] We Float

Product UPC: 731454814423

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question