Queen : News Of The World

Queen : News Of The World

  • $15.98

We Will Rock You and Get Down, Make Love highlight this 1977 release.
When it was released in 1977, News of the World seemed at loggerheads with a music world that had moved beyond Queen's operatic pomprock and on to punk. In fact, the album was more in step with the punk scene than the output of most superstar acts of the time, as it contains Roger Taylor's furious "Sheer Heart Attack" and Freddie Mercury's lean, brutal "Get Down, Make Love." Of course, News is famous for its opening medley, "We Will Rock You/We Are the Champions." Attend any sports event in the Western world, and you'll hear the former. If it's a championship match and the home team wins, you'll hear the latter. That's a tribute to the staying power of the music, but News of the World offers proof that, even as Queen maintained their position as rock & roll royalty, they continued to evolve and react to the times. --Daniel Durchholz

1. [2:02] We Will Rock You
2. [3:00] We Are The Champions
3. [3:25] Sheer Heart Attack (Album Version)
4. [3:10] All Dead, All Dead (Album Version)
5. [4:34] Spread Your Wings (Album Version)
6. [3:03] Fight From The Inside (Album Version)
7. [3:51] Get Down, Make Love (Album Version)
8. [3:06] Sleeping On The Sidewalk (Album Version)
9. [3:05] Who Needs You (Album Version)
10. [6:26] It's Late (Album Version)
11. [3:29] My Melancholy Blues (Album Version)
12. [5:00] We Will Rock You (Remix)

Product UPC: 720616103727

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question