Stevie Wonder : Songs in the Key of Life

Stevie Wonder : Songs in the Key of Life 2xCD

  • $19.98

Songs in the Key of Life (1976) was the highest high point of Stevie Wonder's career. More sprawling than Innervisions and Talking Book, this two-LP-plus-EP was also less of a consistent stunner than either of those masterworks. That Songs retains an enormous amount of visionary relevance, though, is demonstrated not only in Coolio's borrowing of "Pastime Paradise" as a template for "Gangsta's Paradise," but in the cold-as-ice synthesized string quartet of "Village Ghetto Land." This is Stevie, so naturally that cut's anger is balanced by the ultra-buoyant "I Wish," "Sir Duke," and "Another Star." The 2000 reissue boasts radically improved remastered sound. --Rickey Wright

1. [7:05] Love's In Need Of Love Today
2. [2:42] Have A Talk With God
3. [3:25] Village Ghetto Land
4. [3:46] Contusion
5. [3:54] Sir Duke
6. [4:12] I Wish
7. [3:36] Knocks Me Off My Feet
8. [3:27] Pastime Paradise
9. [4:14] Summer Soft
10. [6:23] Ordinary Pain
11. [6:34] Isn't She Lovely
12. [6:29] Joy Inside My Tears
13. [8:29] Black Man
14. [3:48] Ngiculela-Es Una Historia-I Am Singing
15. [3:12] If It's Magic
16. [7:08] As
17. [8:28] Another Star
18. [4:53] Saturn
19. [4:08] Ebony Eyes
20. [5:05] All Day Sucker
21. [3:56] Easy Goin' Evening (My Mama's Call)

Product UPC: 601215735727

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question