Tony Scott : Music For Zen Meditation (VME - Remastered)

Tony Scott : Music For Zen Meditation (VME - Remastered)

  • $15.98

No description available.Genre: Jazz MusicRating: Release Date: 0000-00-00Media Type: Compact Disk
A celebrated jazz clarinetist in the 1950s, Tony Scott started collaborating with Japanese artists on a trip he made to the country in 1959. He returned in 1964 to teach classes in American jazz and ended up collaborating with koto player Shinichi Yuize and shakuhachi flute player Hozan Yamamoto on a dozen improvised collaborations. Based on the Zen concept of beginner's mind, a state of openness that leads to exploration, the Scott-led pieces predate the more modern concept of "ambient" by a good couple of decades--but, as music descended from temples and designed to ease the mind to a state of higher consciousness, it follows many of the same directives. The gentle clarinet is complemented by the flute, with the koto--a 13-stringed zither--providing a comfortable contrast, though all three musicians appear on only a single track, the opening "Is Not All One?" --Randy Silver

1. [3:12] Is Not All One
2. [8:00] The Murmuring Sound Of The Mountain Stream
3. [2:29] A Quivering Leaf Ask The Winds
4. [7:02] After The Snow The Fragrance
5. [1:36] To Drift Like Clouds
6. [2:02] Za Zen (Meditation)
7. [7:09] Prajna-Paramita-Hridaya Sutra (Sutra Chant)
8. [6:43] Sanzen (Moment Of Truth)
9. [5:22] Satori (Enlightenment)

Product UPC: 731452144423

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question