Tricky : Maxinquaye

Tricky : Maxinquaye

  • $15.98

STANDARD EDITION : Debut 1995 album! Includes "Overcome" and "Aftermath", plus a cover of Public Enemy's "Black Steel".
Less experimentally brash than his more recent release, Tricky's debut CD Maxinquaye is actually a better introduction to the British hip-hopper turned international trip-hopper than his later work. The dozen smoldering, moonlit tracks are less concerned with loopy aural exaggeration than they are with showcasing Tricky's slow-mo rap and singer Martine's sexy soprano. With the exception of the stellar "Pumpkin," (featuring vox from Alison Goldfrapp), the duo mix a colorful palate of rhythmic vocals, throbbing backbeats and gravelly electronic textures. Toss in large doses of sexual innuendo and Maxinquaye becomes a libidinous foray into languor and lust. --Nick Heil

1. [4:30] Overcome
2. [3:30] Ponderosa (Album Version)
3. [5:40] Black Steel
4. [3:47] Hell Is Round The Corner
5. [4:31] Pumpkin
6. [7:39] Aftermath
7. [4:26] Abbaon Fat Tracks (Album Version)
8. [2:54] Brand New You're Retro
9. [4:53] Suffocated Love
10. [4:39] You Don't
11. [6:39] Strugglin'
12. [4:04] Feed Me

Product UPC: 731452408921

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question