U2 : All That You Can't Leave Behind

U2 : All That You Can't Leave Behind CD

  • $15.98

Seldom has an album title been as appropriate as ALL THAT YOU CAN'T LEAVE BEHIND. Here, U2 returns to its pre-irony '80s glory days with a straightforward rock approach, leaving behind the electronics and intentional mock-decadence of POP and ZOOROPA. It quickly becomes clear however, that the band had to make those albums in order to get to the ego-free state from which this one emerges. While Larry Mullen's driving beat, Adam Clayton's insistently throbbing bass, the Edge's chiming guitar, and Bono's soulful vocals mesh as in the days of yore, there's a less messianic feel to the proceedings that must have resulted from the group's ego-deflating '90s endeavors.
While POP and ZOOROPA were the sound of four guys having fun, on this album U2 manages to combine unpretentious joy with the open-hearted rock power of its early recordings. From the spiritual warmth of "Grace" to the soul leanings of "In a Little While," the band regains the organic quality that had been missing from its music of the previous decade. What sounds like an unusually hands-off approach on the part of producers Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois can only mean that they were smart enough not to fix what was clearly not broken.

1. [4:08] Beautiful Day
2. [4:32] Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of
3. [3:47] Elevation
4. [4:56] Walk On
5. [4:26] Kite
6. [3:39] In A Little While
7. [3:46] Wild Honey
8. [4:48] Peace On Earth
9. [4:17] When I Look At The World
10. [5:30] New York
11. [5:30] Grace

Product UPC: 731452465320

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question