Half Japanese - Volume Four: 1997 - 2001

Half Japanese - Volume Four: 1997 - 2001

  • $69.99

The last of the Fire Records Half Japanese reissue series, ‘Volume 4:1997-2001’ contains 1997s ‘Bone Head’ and ‘Heaven Sent’ (on LP for the first time) and 2001s ‘Hello’. Final volume of four part box set featuring ‘Bone Head’, ‘Heaven Sent’ and ‘Hello’. “Cutting straight to the gut. Jad’s phrasing matches surging sentiments, creating a counterpoint to the spot-on music. When they grind out a groove half-rhythmic/half-blank cadences, the woozy disconnect is oddly compelling” Pitchfork’s Best New Reissue. “This should lay to rest any questions about the importance of Half Japanese. Without them, we wouldn’t have the primitive pop of Beat Happening nor the id-bearing beauty of Daniel Johnston” Paste Magazine // November 2015 sees Half Japanese and Fire Records bring you the final volume of the immense box sets that focuses on releases from the late 90s and early 00s. The final volume of the four-part Half Japanese box set series "Volume 4: 1997-2001" – includes albums "Bone Head", "Heaven Sent" and "Hello". Showcasing a range of experimental pop smarts and noisy punk bite, these albums see the band surrounding Jad Fair's musings on subjects from hopeless monsters to hopeless romantics with everything from sharp melodies to 64 minute work outs, with a Primal Scream cover thrown in there for good measure. Fire’s colossal Half Japanese series began last year with the Record Store Day exclusive of ‘Half Gentleman/Not Beasts’, this set contains the records in their original form and will include original artwork from Jad Fair. Heaven Sent is made available on vinyl for the first time, with the title track originally over an hour long, a special edit brings over 30 minutes to the LP release. High-quality downloads are included in the LP format which includes extra tracks featured in the CD format.

1. Monkey Hand
2. A Night Like This
3. Sometimes
4. Zombie Eye
5. Song Of Joy
6. Oww
7. Do It
8. He Walks Among Us
9. Diamonds And...
10. Kiss Me Like A Frog
11. Rhumba
12. Intergalactic Aliens
13. Celebration
14. C'mon Baby
15. Somehow I Knew
16. Now I Know
17. Brand New Sky
18. Should I?
19. Song Of Joy
20. Futuristic Lovers
1. Heaven Sent
2. Good & True & Fine
3. A Fine Line
4. Outer Space
5. Well Worth While
6. Better Than No
7. Dynasty
8. Goldfish & The Trout
9. This Is Our Night
10. The Day We Met
1. All The Angels Said Go To Her
2. Patty
3. Temptation
4. The Legend Of Hillbilly John
5. Mississippi
6. No Doubt
7. 10:00 AM
8. Jump Into The Mess
9. Red Sun
10. Whatever The Outcome
11. Best Of The Best

Product UPC: 809236134516

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question