Wayne Shorter : Without A Net

Wayne Shorter : Without A Net

  • $13.98

Without A Net marks the legendary jazz saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter return to Blue Note Records for his first album as a leader for the iconic label in 43 years. The album which features his long-running Quartet with pianist Danilo Perez, bassist John Patitucci, and drummer Brian Blade is a 9-track musical thrill ride that consists of live recordings from the Quartet s European tour in late 2011, the one exception being the 23-minute tone poem Pegasus which features the quartet with The Imani Winds recorded at Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles. The album features six new Shorter compositions, as well as new versions of his tunes Orbits (from Miles Davis Miles Smiles album) and Plaza Real (from the Weather Report album Procession). The quartet also reinvents the title song from the 1933 musical film Flying Down To Rio, which film buffs (such as Shorter) know as the first on-screen pairing of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers.
A band of spellbinding intuition, with an absolute commitment to the spirit of discovery, it has had an incalculable influence on the practice of jazz in the 21st century. --New York Times
Without a Net is not just a new high watermark for Shorter and his stellar quartet, it's a truly masterful masterpiece to add to a discography already brimming with classic recordings that will further cement Shorter's inscription and, as it evolves, his quartet's as well in the rarefied upper echelon of jazz history. --AllAboutJazz

1. [4:50] Orbits
2. [8:49] Starry Night
3. [5:18] S.S. Golden Mean
4. [6:59] Plaza Real
5. [3:05] Myrrh
6. [23:07] Pegasus
7. [12:47] Flying Down To Rio
8. [8:13] Zero Gravity to the 10th Power
9. [4:12] (The Notes) Unidentified Flying Objects

Product UPC: 5099997951629

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question