Willie Nelson : Teatro

Willie Nelson : Teatro

  • $10.98

1998 album from the legendary Country singer/songwriter. The recording sessions for the album were held in an old movie theater in Oxnard, California and were produced by Daniel Lanois. The album features backing vocals by Emmylou Harris, as well as backing by regular Nelson harmonicist Mickey Raphael and Nelson's sister, Bobbie Nelson, on piano. The majority of the songs are composed by Nelson, and most are re-recordings of some songs he wrote and first recorded in the 1960s: "Darkness on the Face of the Earth" (1961), "My Own Peculiar Way" (1964), "Home Motel" (1962), "I Just Can't Let You Say Goodbye" (1968), "I've Just Destroyed the World (1962) and "Three Days" (1962).
The first words from Willie Nelson's lips, "The sun is filled with ice and gives no warmth at all / the sky was never blue," warn the listener something is happening here. In a converted Mexican movie theater, producer Daniel Lanois surrounds the 65-year-old Nelson with the most startling and assured musical vision of his career: lush, rippling guitars, and swelling, splashing drum tracks, doubled and tripled over, sometimes in a Latin mood. Lanois allows Nelson freedom to solo in and around his sonic dreamwork, and with the presence of longtime fellow travelers Mickey Raphael, Emmylou Harris, and sister Bobbie, the record clearly smacks of Nelson's style and lyrical vision. The original material is decades old, but little known, and generally as haunting as Lanois's arrangements. (Only one song should have remained in the vaults: the emotionally-curdled "I Just Can't Let You Say Good-Bye.") So much could have gone wrong on this pairing. It's a thrill to hear how much truly goes right. --Roy Francis Kasten

1. [2:43] Ou Es-Tu, Mon Amour?
2. [2:18] I Never Cared For You
3. [3:50] Everywhere I Go
4. [2:33] Darkness On The Face Of The Earth
5. [3:37] My Own Peculiar Way
6. [3:30] These Lonely Nights
7. [3:15] Home Motel
8. [5:09] The Maker
9. [4:38] I Just Can't Let You Say Good-Bye
10. [2:52] I've Just Destroyed The World
11. [4:39] Somebody Pick Up My Pieces
12. [3:07] Three Days
13. [4:18] I've Loved You All Over The World
14. [3:52] Annie

Product UPC: 731452454829

Questions & Answers

Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question